top of page
  • Writer's pictureJanine

Six Books That Set My Creative Soul On Fire

Updated: Jun 30, 2023

During my burnout, I thought about the works that set my creative soul on fire.

Of course, part of this was thinking about the books that spoke to me on a deeper level than most for one reason or another. This covered the subject manner, the characters, or the prose, or a combination thereof. These Young Adult books, more than most, drove me to write something that might impact someone else in the same manner. Of course, they are some of my absolute favorite reads and are all highly recommended.


The Nature of Witches by Rachel Griffin

Clara’s struggle with her self doubt touched me in several ways. She’s entrusted to be a savior for the world due to her rare magical gifts, but unsure if she can meet those high standards put on by the ones around her and herself. It takes Clara through a year of deciding if to keep her magic or let herself lose it all. The lyrical and descriptive prose brought me into this world immediately. The nature themes and the easy to understand, yet in depth, world building bound the whole book together.


Ignite by Jenna Terese

In a world where superpowers are feared, Scarlet finds herself with fire powers, but she’s forced to face new perspectives along her journey and is conflicted if she wants her powers removed. The emotional resonance of Scarlet’s in-depth inner thoughts came alive for me, as the story explored the many sides of super powers and what it means to have them in a world that criminalizes them. I love the descriptive and detailed prose as well.


Unseelie by Ivelisse Housman

I enjoyed this especially for the autistic protagonist, Seelie, not being a passive plot device stereotype, and instead is an active participant in her story, making critical choices. Sure, her sister does help, but she’s not treated like a small child. I sensed a part of myself in her habits and thinking patterns as she travels on a road trip with her sister, and discovers more about herself and her magical potential. I also loved the world building and how it twisted an old autistic changeling myth into something new. Plus, the prose and pacing stood out in a unique way that was Seelie’s story.


With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo

Who knew that reading the year of the life of a high school senior who has to juggle school, friends, her daughter, and cooking dreams was so intriguing? Emoni’s voice was just right for this slice of life novel, full of resonant emotions and feelings, all in a lyrical prose. I couldn’t put this one down, especially with the short chapters. And the cultural and heritage references made it perfect!


Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibanez

This fantasy story of revolution has Ximena, the decoy ruler, attempting to take back her homeland, but as black and white turn to gray and she dives deep into her magic, she must make a friendship altering choice. The prose, pacing and voice were on point, with a perfect balance of lyricism and tension. The magic and setting were immersive and the characters’ emotions were visceral, with solid motivations for everyone involved.


Wings of Ebony by J Elle

Rue’s on a mission to take on malicious god-like beings destroying her Park Row neighborhood with drugs and violence with her own magical powers, even if it means defying the rules and being an outcast. Rue reminds me of a friend I might have known growing up, a diamond that wouldn’t break. Rue’s emotions were visceral, and combining with a writing style and voice I don’t stumble on often, this was a perfect example of Black Girl Magic.


I honestly hope to find more books that make me feel like these books and they’ve all become auto-buy authors for me.

bottom of page